History of the Kirchdorfer Group

“History does not only refer to what happened but also to what has been accumulated – that is to say, the ground which we stand and build on.”

1888 – it all starts with a railway

Emil Dierzer Ritter von Traunthal and Adolf Hofmann from Linz, joint owner of Linzer Mühlen mills and a food factory, commission the construction of the Kremstalbahn railway, which takes up service in 1881. Over the course of the construction work, limestone and calcareous marlstone are discovered in the upper Kremstal valley.

Dierzer and Hofmann know how to make use of this profitable synergy. For the cement works, however, comprehensive planning and preparatory work is needed. First, the raw material base is secured and a property rich in calcareous marlstone acquired.

On April 1, 1887, the company Cementwerk Kirchdorf, Hofmann & Comp. applies for a concession for the construction of a cement plant at the district commission of Kirchdorf.

Construction negotiations proceed to the utmost satisfaction: the concession is granted rapidly with the aim of promoting the positive development of a structurally weak area.

Construction work begins immediately, and on July 24, 1888, “Portland-Cementwerk Kirchdorf, Hofmann & Comp.” is registered in the company register.

Development shows a steep upwards trend: after 125 years, the 20 millionth ton of cement was produced and delivered to customers in June 2013.


1930s – from cement to concrete

In the first years, construction sites in Vienna and Salzburg are already supplied with cement. This successful development is enhanced by ongoing investments. From 1892 to 1912 three more Dietzsch storey furnaces go into operation, and in 1908 electricity starts its success story thanks to the Steyrdurchbruch power plant.

With the spun concrete plant, the first step is taken from raw materials to the finished product. In summer 1932, the first ready for use mast bases made of spun concrete are produced, the company management acquires the patent and authorization to be the sole manufacturer in Austria. In the year of its establishment in 1933, about 800 mast bases are produced for the mounting of wooden pylons.


1950s – The Kirchdorfer cement plant gets off to a dream start

From the end of the 1940s, cement production is steadily increasing. 1952 marks a major improvement for the almost 300 employees.

A “Gefolgschaftshaus” building with common rooms, washing rooms and showers is erected. It quickly turns into a social meeting place.

The run on products for reconstruction in the aftermath of the war calls for large-scale investments: in March 1957, Austria’s first rotary kiln for cement production including technical facilities (mixing plants, round silos, conveyors, drying and grinding plants for coal) is brought into service.

The Kirchdorfer cement plant demonstrates pioneering spirit in the matter of environmental protection as early as in 1958: the first electric filters almost entirely reduce dust emissions. This path is pursued in the 1960s with the increased use of gas instead of coal and district heating provided for the town of Kirchdorf.

In order to cope with the continuous growth, more money is invested in new equipment: a combined drying and grinding plant, a gas-fired thermal power plant, a steam turbine plant and the rotary kiln II, just to name a few. In 1964, more than 200,000 tons of cement are produced for the first time in a year. With the introduction of paper instead of jute bags the “Kirchdorfer Löwe” lion makes its first appearance. To this day, the lion symbolizes strength and perseverance.


1970s – strong partner on board

The 1970s are years of constant change. It all starts with a large-scale investment: one of central Europe’s most modern spun concrete plants is built for a total of 32 million schillings (more than 2.3 million Euros) in Micheldorf – fittingly it is entirely made of concrete, thus  taking into account the increasing demand for concrete masts.

In January 1976, the course for the Kirchdorfer Zementwerk cement works is set anew. Perlmooser Zementwerke, a group with several cement works operating at a national level, takes over 48% of its shares. In 1992, a large block of shares of Perlmooser AG is sold to the Lafarge group, one of the largest cement manufacturers worldwide. In Austria, this new shareholder focuses on the core cement business, which results in an unbundling of the area of diversification of the Kirchdorfer group in 1995.

This provides the basis for the expansion course of the Kirchdorfer group.


1980s – visionary and innovator

As of 1 January 1980, Max I. Machanek joins the Kirchdorfer cement plant as authorized signatory. He is committed to the company and enjoys the shareholders’ trust. The rest is a mere matter of form: In a shareholders’ resolution he is unanimously appointed manager as of 1 January 1981. He was the first family member holding a leading position in the company management after so many years

With Machanek at executive level, the dynamics of the company changes significantly – he brings a breeze of fresh air, has leadership qualities and is an excellent negotiator. This marks the start of a new era characterized by diversification, start-ups and investments. For more than 20 years Max I. Machanek has been the leading figure who turns the Kirchdorfer group into a dynamic business with qualitative and quantitative growth. In 2000, a total group turnover of more than 1 billion schillings is made with over 1,000 employees. On April 3, 2004 , Max I. Machanek dies aged only 56 after battling a long and painful illness.


1983 – now is the time to add color

Diversification sets in in 1983 with the acquisition of long-standing Schreibwarenfabrik Brevillier-Urban, manufacturer of stationery in Graz-Gösting. Now the well-known Jolly brand has a future again. In addition to crayons and graphite pencils, the wide range of products includes primarily wax crayons, ballpoints, felt-tip pens, ink pens, artists’ colors, the artists’ program Talens and cosmetic products.

The driving force behind this investment is Max I. Machanek: after close examination of the business, he makes large-scale investments, strengthens sales and distribution and motivates employees. The result: within one year, Jolly is in the black again.

In order to concentrate exclusively on its core cement and concrete businesses in the future, the Kirchdorfer group parts with the traditional brand almost a quarter of a century after its acquisition. In 2007, the Imarco group becomes the new owner of Jolly.


1984 – new perspectives with precast elements

The history of MABA goes back to 1924: the first concrete goods are manufactured in Wöllersdorf in Lower Austria. The 1950s mark the beginning of a success story with reinforced concrete, which continues well into the 1960s with special components, rationalization and new production processes.

On an appropriate occasion, the Kirchdorfer cement plant seizes its chance: it takes over the company, with the new Kommanditgesellschaft MABA Betonwaren Gesellschaft m.b.H. & Co. KG being registered in the company register in Wiener Neustadt on May 16, 1984: this marks the entry into the world of precast concrete industry.

The purchase of MABA is attractive for the Kirchdorfer cement plant in many respects: on the one hand, it presents a reasonable addition to the spun concrete plant creating new market potential. On the other hand, MABA is member of the Verband österreichischer Beton- und Fertigteilwerke [Austrian Concrete and Precast Concrete Association] – an excellent network promoting synergies and innovation.

Today, MABA Fertigteilindustrie GmbH is Austria’s largest manufacturer of precast elements in its market segment. 250 employees and a broad product portfolio guarantee ideal solutions for a wide range of applications. Mobile and state-of-the-art manufacturing facilities allow for an efficient handling of high-volume production.

The core business of the company are stairs, residential system solutions, road construction, structures /spun concrete products, civil engineering /large-scale and environmental projects.

Product lines that are developed with customers in the fields of tunnel and road construction / noise protection expand the range of services on a continuous basis. Up and coming are environmental products, such as the fish migration aid enature® fishpass.

Another recent example of the high level of expertise and maximum quality of processing are precast elements for wind power plants, which are made from high-strength, self-compacting special concrete.


1990s – Expanze!
(Czech for expansion)

The Kirchdorfer group is changing further – and not only within Austria’s borders: at the end of 1992, after several negotiation rounds, 80% of the company shares of Kámen a písek in the Czech city of Crumlaw are purchased, laying the foundation of the raw materials sector. The company has several stone quarries in the south of Bohemia.

Continuous investments, innovative products and a strong customer focus make Kámen a písek one of the leaders in the sector. In addition to operating stone quarries, the affiliated company ČR Beton Bohemia manufactures ready-mixed concrete, reinforcements and concrete blocks, and also offers construction services.


1998 – Maba pre-fabricated house

In 1998, the Kirchdorfer group enters in the business segment of pre-fabricated houses together with MABA, opening a new chapter in the history of the company. The key to this decision lies in the development of the solid building material “Ziegelit®”.

The Eurohaus brand is taken over. Six years later and following on relocation, the MABA Fertighaus GmbH comes into being – a 100% subsidiary company of the Kirchdorfer group.

The Maba pre-fabricated house is unique as far as its solid construction made of Ziegelit® or Liapor is concerned. Several certification marks confirm its outstanding structural and physical properties. From the core and shell construction to the house ready for occupation: given that all solid components are manufactured by MABA, customers can choose freely between various stages of construction. Maba prefabricated houses are robust, of stable value, secure and built to last for generations: the criteria to measure this success are a total of 6,500 satisfied residents.


1999 – stepping beyond the border

The successful development of Kámen a písek gives the Kirchdorfer group the necessary tailwind to continue on its expansion course: in 1999, several activities both in Austria and abroad are launched in the raw materials sector. In addition to the Czech Republic, companies are operating in Hungary, Rumania, Serbia and Bulgaria in the areas of sand, gravel, natural stone and ready-mixed concrete.

In Austria too, the market position is gradually being strengthened. Two milestones are the founding of Martini Beton and the joining of WIBAU. This long-standing company was founded as an industrial and provident society in 1946, with the aim of supplying the construction sector with affordable raw materials. Under WIBAU holding company operate several renowned businesses from Upper Austria. The Kirchdorfer group holds a share in the following: WIBAU Kies und Beton, WIBAU Gerüstbau and Rems Beton.

As of 2013, in the wake of the acquisition of a majority stake in WIBAU, the Kirchdorfer group is prominent in the area of sand, gravel and ready-mixed concrete in Upper Austria too.

WIBAU is in the lead in particular in the field of environmental protection: the companies UWT Umwelttechnik and BRG Bauschutt Recycling recycle construction waste, thus making a direct contribution to environmental protection.

The 1990s are eventful years for the Kirchdorfer cement plant too: a lot of money is invested in productivity, quality and environmental protection to reduce emissions and improve noise protection. A new low NOX burner system and a new kiln control system ensure emission reduction of the greenhouse gas CO2, whilst improving the quality of life of the inhabitants of Kirchdorf significantly. 


2000 – International activities

The turn of the new millennium marks another growth period for the Kirchdorfer group: 50% of Rauter Fertigteilbau is acquired in 2000. The company manufactures and assembles precast concrete components for structural engineering, commercial and industrial construction as well as special prefabricated components.

In the same year, another gem of the Kirchdorfer group is founded: DELTA BLOC International. By now, the leading developer and manufacturer of precast concrete vehicle restraint systems is present, either directly or through its license partners, in more than 30 countries on five continents.

DELTABLOC® safety barriers make a substantial contribution towards increasing road safety. In Austria alone, such vehicle restraint systems prevent serious consequences in about 300 to 400 collisions per year.

More than 20 patents, utility models and developments based on expertise gained in more than 100 crash tests characterize these internationally renowned high-tech products.


2004 – strategist with vision

Early on, Max I. Machanek grooms his successor: Erich Frommwald, his assistant for many years, gradually grows into the role as a leader. In 1994, Frommwald joins the company and, initially, attends primarily to the subsidiary companies.

He takes over more and more tasks. When Max I. Machanek dies in 2004, the transition in management is hence smooth. Continuity in its strategic orientation combined with new ideas secure dynamic growth of the company.

Erich Frommwald restructures the group further pursuing the expansion course. Of particular importance to him are the employees’ personal responsibility and a corporate culture guided by values – factors that are vital for the success of the Kirchdorfer group. 


2005 – civil engineering gains new heights

MABA Fertigteilindustrie GmbH purchases a majority stake in the Bauer Betonwerk concrete plant in the east of Styria. This company manufactures precast concrete components for sewer construction, civil engineering and road construction. In 2006, it holds 100% of the shares, with the company being incorporated into TIBA.

TIBA is founded in 2005, with the aim of bringing together activities in the areas of pipe systems, road and building drainage as well as environmental engineering.

Today, TIBA Austria is a leading company supplying both Austria and Slovenia with a broad range of concrete products. Sewage treatment plants, separator systems, sewer shafts, containers, shaft rings and covers as well as road gullies are manufactured at four locations. With its customized solutions for building projects, TIBA Austria has gained an excellent reputation in this sector.


2006 / 2007 – back to the roots

2006 and 2007 see a number of improvements at organizational level in particular.

On the initiative of Erich Frommwald, the entire group is put on a new footing. The three holding companies operating in the cement, raw materials and precast products & prefabricated houses sectors make it easier for operative units to concentrate on their core business. Overarching functions, such as accounting, payroll administration, EDP, staff and legal issues, controlling, etc. are the task of the parent company.

Such an efficient structure provides the basis for further growth. An example of this is the foundation of MABA TRACK SOLUTIONS on January 1, 2007. The company has a production capacity of approximately 200,000 sleepers per year.

The year 2007 marks a milestone, with corporate headquarters being relocated from Linz to Kirchdorf, where it all began. Especially customers profit from short distances in one place. Moreover, this investment upgrades the image of the location and is a positive sign for the area, as is symbolized by the prominent outer façade: a human chain made of concrete represents both close links with each other and the surroundings. 


2010 / 2012 – the old and the new in perfect unity

The Kirchdorfer group thinks in generations and invests in economically difficult times too. In 2010, it acquires the Katzenberger Beton und Fertigteilwerke GmbH in Gerasdorf. Its products are an ideal addition to the Kirchdorfer group, in particular to the precast components sector for building construction. The acquisition of H. Katzenberger Beton- und Fertigteilwerke in Wiesing / Tyrol 2013 is backed up by a long-term plan: in the precast concrete components sector the inhabitants of Kirchdorf are now represented all over Austria, with distribution areas in the west of Austria, South Tyrol and Southern Germany.

Yet another milestone is the opening of a new administrative headquarters in Wöllersdorf on May 23, 2012. The history of the grounds goes back to 1815, when they housed an ammunition factory. The listed building undergoes major renovation work and is revitalized with love for detail. Behind the spectacular façade all in white, several floor ceilings equipped with state-of-the-art technology for 150 workplaces are installed. A marriage of modern and tradition: the special ambience is perceivable at every turn. The former ammunition factory has been linked to the history of the Kirchdorfer group for many years, and has been revived to its former glory with respect for tradition and nature – lived corporate philosophy of the Kirchdorfer group.


2013 – on the path to global success

Today, 125 years after its foundation, the Kirchdorfer group operates worldwide. Its successful path has led the group to 13 European countries, and further to Africa and Asia. The private company is characterized by dynamic growth and continuous expansion of its three product fields “cement, raw materials as well as precast products & prefabricated houses.”

Geschichte der Kirchdorfer Gruppe

“Geschichte ist nicht nur Geschehenes, sondern Geschichtetes – also der Boden, auf dem wir stehen und bauen.”

1888 – Alles beginnt mit einer Eisenbahn

Emil Dierzer Ritter von Traunthal und der Linzer Mühlenund Nährmittelfabriksmitbesitzer Adolf Hofmann lassen die Kremstalbahn bauen, die 1881 Fahrt aufnimmt. Im Zuge dessen werden Kalk- und Kalkmergelvorkommen im oberen Kremstal entdeckt.

Dierzer und Hofmann wissen die gewinnbringende Synergie zu nutzen. Für das Zementwerk braucht es allerdings umfangreiche Planungen und Vorarbeiten. Zunächst wird die Rohstoffbasis sichergestellt und eine Liegenschaft mit ergiebigen Kalkmergelvorkommen erworben.

Am 1. April 1887 sucht die Firma Cementwerk Kirchdorf, Hofmann & Comp. bei der Bezirkshauptmannschaft Kirchdorf um die Bewilligung zum Bau eines Zementwerks an.

Die Bauverhandlung verläuft zur vollsten Zufriedenheit: Rasch wird die Bewilligung erteilt, um die Chancen für eine positive Entwicklung in einer strukturschwachen Region zu nutzen.

Unverzüglich wird mit dem Bau begonnen und am 24. Juli 1888 schließlich das „Portland-Cementwerk Kirchdorf, Hofmann & Comp.“ in das Handelsregister eingetragen.

Die Entwicklung zeigt steil nach oben: Nach 125 Jahren wurde im Juni 2013 die 20 Millionste Tonne Zement produziert und an Kunden ausgeliefert.


1930er – Vom Zement zum Beton

Bereits in den Anfangsjahren werden Baustellen in Wien und Salzburg beliefert. Zur erfolgreichen Entwicklung tragen auch die kontinuierlichen Investitionen bei. Von 1892 bis 1912 gehen drei weitere Dietzsch-Etagenöfen in Betrieb, 1908 beginnt mit dem Kraftwerk Steyrdurchbruch der Siegeszug der Elektrizität.

Mit dem Schleuderbetonwerk setzen sie den ersten Schritt vom Rohstoff zum Fertigprodukt. Im Sommer 1932 werden die ersten gebrauchsfähigen Schleuderbeton-Mastfüße produziert, die Firmenleitung erwirbt das Patent und die Berechtigung ihrer Alleinerzeugung in ganz Österreich. Bereits im Werksgründungsjahr 1933 werden rund 800 Mastfüße für die Aufständerung von Holzleitungsmasten hergestellt.


 

1950er – Kirchdorfer Zementwerk startet durch

Ab Ende der 1940er-Jahre geht es mit der Zementproduktion kontinuierlich bergauf. Das Jahr 1952 bringt einen wesentlichen Fortschritt für die knapp 300 Mitarbeiter(-innen).

Ein Gefolgschaftshaus mit Aufenthalts-, Wasch- und Duschräumen wird errichtet. Rasch wird es zum sozialen Treffpunkt.

Die enorme Nachfrage durch den Wiederaufbau nach dem Krieg macht große Investitionen notwendig: Im März 1957 wird der erste Drehrohrofen Österreichs für die Zementproduktion inklusive Vorwerke (Mischanlagen, Rundsilos, Förder-, Trocken- und Mahlanlagen für die Ofenkohle) in Betrieb genommen.

Pioniergeist in Sachen Umweltschutz beweist das Kirchdorfer Zementwerk schon 1958: Die ersten Elektrofilter eliminieren die Staubemissionen nahezu völlig. Mit dem verstärkten Einsatz von Gas statt Kohle und der Versorgung von Kirchdorf mit Fernwärme wird in den 1960er-Jahren dieser Weg konsequent weitergeführt.

Um dem kontinuierlichen Wachstum Rechnung zu tragen wird weiter kräftig investiert: Mahltrockenanlage, Gas-Wärmekraftwerk, eine Dampfturbinenanlage und der Drehrohrofen II sind nur einige Beispiele. 1964 werden erstmals mehr als 200.000 Jahrestonnen Zement erzeugt. Mit der Einführung von Papier- statt Jutesäcken hat der Kirchdorfer Löwe seinen ersten Auftritt. Bis heute steht er für Kraft und Ausdauer.


1970er – Starker Partner an Bord

Die 1970er-Jahre bringen einiges an Veränderungen mit sich. Gestartet wird mit einer Großinvestition: Um 32 Mio. Schilling (mehr als 2,3 Mio. Euro) wird in Micheldorf eines der modernsten Schleuderbetonwerke Mitteleuropas neu errichtet – standesgemäß komplett aus Beton. Damit trägt man der stark steigenden Nachfrage nach Betonmasten Rechnung.

Im Jänner 1976 werden die Weichen für das Kirchdorfer Zementwerk neu gestellt. Die Perlmooser Zementwerke, ein national tätiger Konzern mit mehreren Zementwerken, übernehmen 48% der Anteile. Im Jahr 1992 wird ein größeres Aktienpaket der Perlmoser AG an die Lafarge Gruppe veräußert, welche zu den weltgrößten Zementherstellern zählt. Dieser neue Gesellschafter konzentriert sich in Österreich auf das Kerngeschäft Zement. Dadurch kommt es 1995 auch bei der Kirchdorfer Gruppe zu einer Entflechtung des sogenannten Diversifikationsbereiches.

Für die Kirchdorfer Gruppe ist damit die Basis für den Expansionskurs gelegt.


1980er – Visionär und Wegbereiter

Per 1. Jänner 1980 tritt Max I. Machanek als Prokurist in das Kirchdorfer Zementwerk ein, engagiert sich im Unternehmen und genießt das Vertrauen der Gesellschafter. Der Rest ist Formsache: Laut Beschluss wird er ab 1. Jänner 1981 einstimmig zum neuen Geschäftsführer bestellt. Seit langer Zeit ist nun wieder ein Mitglied der Familie Dierzer aktiv in der Unternehmensführung vertreten.

Mit Machanek an der Spitze verändert sich die Dynamik im Werk entscheidend – er sorgt für frischen Wind, zeigt Führungsqualitäten und ist ein exzellenter Verhandler. Die Ära der Diversifizierungen, Neugründungen und Beteiligungen beginnt. Über 20 Jahre lang ist Max I. Machanek die bestimmende Figur, die die Kirchdorfer Gruppe zu einem dynamischen Unternehmen mit qualitativem und quantitativem Wachstum führt. So wird im Jahr 2000 mit über 1.000 Mitarbeitern ein Gruppenumsatz von über 1 Mrd. Schilling erzielt. Am 3. April 2004 verstirbt Max I. Machanek nach langer und schwerer Krankheit im Alter von nur 56 Jahren.


1983 – jetzt kommt Farbe ins Spiel

Die Diversifikation beginnt 1983 mit der Übernahme der traditionsreichen Schreibwarenfabrik Brevillier-Urban in Graz Gösting. Die bekannte Marke Jolly erhält wieder eine Zukunft. Neben Farb- und Graphitstiften setzt sich das breitgefächerte Sortiment hauptsächlich aus Wachsmalkreiden, Kugelschreibern, Faserstiften, Tuschestiften, Malfarben, dem Künstlerprogramm Talens und Kosmetikprodukten zusammen.

Treibende Kraft hinter dieser Investition ist Max I. Machanek: Nach eingehender Prüfung des Betriebs tätigt er umfangreiche Investitionen, stärkt den Vertrieb und motiviert die Mitarbeiter neu. Das Ergebnis: Innerhalb eines Jahres schreibt Jolly wieder schwarze Zahlen.

Um sich zukünftig ausschließlich auf ihre Kernkompetenzen Zement und Beton zu konzentrieren, trennt sich die Kirchdorfer Gruppe knapp ein Vierteljahrhundert nach dem Erwerb jedoch wieder von der Traditionsmarke. 2007 wird die Imarco-Gruppe neuer Eigentümer von Jolly.


1984 – Neue Perspektiven mit Fertigteilen

Die Geschichte der MABA geht bis ins Jahr 1924 zurück: In Wöllersdorf werden die ersten Betonwaren produziert. In den 1950er-Jahren beginnt eine Erfolgsstory aus Stahlbeton, die sich in den 1960er-Jahren mit Sonderbauteilen, Rationalisierungen und neuen Verfahren fortsetzt.

Als sich eine günstige Gelegenheit ergibt, greift das Kirchdorfer Zementwerk zu. Das Unternehmen wird übernommen und am 16. Mai 1984 die neue Kommanditgesellschaft MABA Betonwaren Gesellschaft m.b.H. & Co. KG im Handelsregister Wiener Neustadt eingetragen: der Einstieg in die Welt der Betonfertigteile.

Für das Kirchdorfer Zementwerk ist die Übernahme der MABA in vielfacher Hinsicht attraktiv: Zum einen stellt sie eine sinnvolle Ergänzung zum Schleuderbetonwerk dar und eröffnet neue Marktchancen. Zum anderen ist die MABA Mitglied im Verband österreichischer Beton- und Fertigteilwerke – ein ausgezeichnetes Netzwerk für Synergien und die Entwicklung von Innovationen.

Heute ist die MABA Fertigteilindustrie GmbH größter österreichischer Fertigteilhersteller in ihrem Marktsegment. 250 Mitarbeiter(-innen) und ein breites Produktportfolio sichern optimale Lösungen für unterschiedlichste Anwendungen. Mobile und modernste Fertigungsanlagen ermöglichen die effiziente Abwicklung von Großserien.

Die Kernbereiche des Unternehmens sind Treppen, Systemlösungen für den Wohnbau, Verkehrswege/Straßenbau, Säulen/Schleuderbetonprodukte, Tiefbau/Großprojekte sowie Umweltprodukte.

Gemeinsam mit Kunden entwickelte Produktlinien im Tunnel- und  Straßenbau/Lärmschutz erweitern kontinuierlich die Angebotspalette. Stark im Kommen sind Umweltprodukte wie die Fischwanderhilfe enature® fishpass.

Ein weiteres Beispiel für höchstes Know-how und größte Verarbeitungsqualität sind in jüngster Zeit Fertigteile für Windkraftanlagen, die aus hochfestem, selbstverdichtendem Spezialbeton hergestellt werden.


1990er – Expanze!
(Tschechisch für Expansion)

Die Kirchdorfer Gruppe verändert sich weiter – und das nicht nur innerhalb der Landesgrenzen: Ende 1992 werden nach mehreren Verhandlungsrunden 80% der Unternehmensanteile an Kámen a písek im tschechischen Krumau übernommen und so der Grundstein für die Sparte Rohstoffe gelegt. Das Unternehmen besitzt mehrere Steinbrüche in Südböhmen.

Unablässige Investitionen, innovative Produkte und eine starke Kundenorientierung machen Kámen a písek zu einem führenden Anbieter der Branche. Neben dem Betrieb von Steinbrüchen erzeugt das Schwesterunternehmen ČR Beton Bohemia Transportbeton, Bewehrungen und Formblöcke und bietet darüber hinaus Bauleistungen.


1998 – Maba Fertighaus

1998 steigt die Kirchdorfer Gruppe mit der MABA massiv in das Fertighaussegment ein und schlägt damit ein neues Kapitel in der Unternehmensgeschichte auf. Der Grundstein für diesen Entschluss liegt in der Entwicklung des Massivbaustoffs „Ziegelit®“.

Die Marke Eurohaus wird übernommen. Sechs Jahre und einen Standortwechsel später entsteht daraus die MABA Fertighaus GmbH – 100%-iges Tochterunternehmen der Kirchdorfer Gruppe.

Das Maba Fertighaus ist in seiner Massivbauweise aus Ziegelit® oder Liapor einzigartig. Die hervorragenden bauphysikalischen Eigenschaften werden durch zahlreiche Prüfzeichen bestätigt. Von Edelrohbau bis Schlüsselfertig: Da alle Massivteile von der MABA selbst produziert werden, können die Kunden zwischen verschiedenen Ausbaustufen frei wählen.

Maba Fertighäuser sind stabil, wertbeständig, sicher und für Generationen gebaut: Maßstab für den Erfolg sind die mittlerweile 6.500 zufriedenen Bewohner(-innen).


1999 – Schritt über die Grenze

Die erfolgreiche Entwicklung der Kámen a písek gibt Rückenwind für den weiteren Expansionskurs der Kirchdorfer Gruppe: Beginnend mit dem Jahr 1999 starten im In- und Ausland viele Aktivitäten am Rohstoffsektor. Neben Tschechien sind mittlerweile Unternehmen in Ungarn, Rumänien, Serbien und Bulgarien in den Bereichen Sand und Kies, Naturstein und Transportbeton tätig.

Auch in Österreich wird die Marktstellung sukzessive ausgebaut. Neben der Gründung der Martini Beton ist der Einstieg bei der WIBAU ein weiterer Meilenstein. Das traditionsreiche Unternehmen ist 1946 als Wirtschaftsgenossenschaft des Bauwesens gegründet worden, um die Bauwirtschaft mit günstigen Rohstoffen zu versorgen. Unter dem Dach der WIBAU Holding befinden sich zahlreiche renommierte Unternehmen aus Oberösterreich, an denen die Kirchdorfer Gruppe beteiligt ist: WIBAU Kies und Beton, WIBAU Gerüstbau und Rems Beton.

Seit 2013 ist die Kirchdorfer Gruppe durch die Übernahme der Mehrheit an der WIBAU nun auch im Bereich Sand, Kies und Transportbeton in Oberösterreich prominent vertreten.

Die WIBAU genießt insbesondere beim Thema Umweltschutz eine Vorreiterrolle: Die Unternehmen UWT Umwelttechnik und BRG Bauschutt Recycling ermöglichen eine Wiederverwertung von Baurestmassen und leisten so einen unmittelbaren Beitrag zum Umweltschutz.

Auch im Kirchdorfer Zementwerk selbst sind die 1990-er Jahre sehr ereignisreich: Viel wird in die Produktivität, die Qualität und in den Umweltschutz für verbesserten Emissions- und Lärmschutz investiert. Eine neue Low-NOX-Brenneranlage und ein neues Kiln-Control-System führen zu einer wesentlichen Reduktion des Treibhausgases CO2 und erhöhen die Lebensqualität der Kirchdorfer Bevölkerung wesentlich.


2000 – International sicher unterwegs

Mit Beginn des neuen Jahrtausends wächst die Kirchdorfer Gruppe erneut: 50% der Rauter Fertigteilbau werden im Jahr 2000 übernommen. Das Unternehmen produziert und montiert Betonfertigteile für den Hoch-, Gewerbe- und Industriebau sowie Sonderfertigteile.

Im selben Jahr wird eine weitere Perle der Kirchdorfer Gruppe gegründet: die DELTA BLOC International. Der führende Entwickler und Hersteller von Fahrzeugrückhaltesystemen aus Beton ist mittlerweile direkt oder über Lizenzpartner in mehr als 30 Ländern auf fünf Kontinenten vertreten.

DELTABLOC® Betonleitsysteme leisten einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Sicherheit im Straßenverkehr. Allein in Österreich verhindern derartige Fahrzeugrückhaltesysteme bei ca. 300 bis 400 Kollisionen jährlich schwerwiegende Folgen.

Mehr als 20 Patente, geschützte Gebrauchsmuster und Know-how-Entwicklungen aus mehr als 100 Crashtests stecken in diesen international anerkannten Hightech-Produkten.


2004 – Stratege mit Weitblick

Schon früh baut Max I. Machanek seinen Nachfolger auf: Erich Frommwald, jahrelang sein Assistent, wächst kontinuierlich in die Führungsrolle hinein. Frommwald tritt 1994 ins Unternehmen ein und kümmert sich zunächst hauptsächlich um die Tochterunternehmen.

Er übernimmt immer mehr Agenden. Als Max I. Machanek 2004 stirbt, kommt es daher zum nahtlosen Übergang in der Geschäftsführung. Kontinuität in der strategischen Ausrichtung, gepaart mit neuen Ideen, sichern das dynamische Wachstum des Unternehmens.

Erich Frommwald ordnet den Konzern neu und führt den Expansionskurs fort. Besonders wichtig sind ihm die Eigenverantwortung der Mitarbeiter(-innen) und eine an Werten orientierte Unternehmenskultur – zentrale Erfolgsfaktoren der Kirchdorfer Gruppe.


2005 – Höhenflüge am Tiefbau

Die MABA Fertigteilindustrie übernimmt eine Mehrheit am Betonwerk Bauer in der Oststeiermark. Das Unternehmen stellt Betonfertigteile für Kanal-, Tief- und Straßenbau her. 2006 werden die Anteile auf 100% aufgestockt und das Unternehmen in die TIBA eingebracht.

Die TIBA wird 2005 gegründet, um die Aktivitäten in den Bereichen, Kanaltechnik, Straßen- und Hausentwässerung sowie Umwelttechnik zu bündeln.

Heute bietet die TIBA Austria als ein führendes Unternehmen am Markt ein breites Spektrum von Betonprodukten für Österreich und Slowenien. An vier Standorten werden Klär- und Abscheideanlagen, Kanalschächte, Behälter, Ringe und Abdeckungen sowie Straßenabläufe produziert. TIBA Austria hat sich mit maßgeschneiderten Lösungen für Bauprojekte einen hervorragenden Ruf in der Branche erarbeitet.


2006 / 2007 Zurück zu den Wurzeln

Die Jahre 2006/2007 bringen vor allem in der Organisation viele Neuerungen.

Auf Initiative von Erich Frommwald wird schließlich der gesamte Konzern auf neue Füße gestellt. Die drei Holdinggesellschaften Zement, Rohstoffe und Fertigteile & Fertighäuser erleichtern den operativen Einheiten, sich auf ihr Kerngeschäft zu konzentrieren. Übergeordnete Funktionen wie Buchhaltung, Lohnverrechnung, EDV, Personal und Recht sowie Controlling etc. sind bei der Konzernmutter angesiedelt.

Mit dieser effizienten Struktur wird die Grundlage für weiteres Wachstum geschaffen. Ein Beispiel dafür ist die Gründung der MABA TRACK SOLUTIONS mit 1. Jänner 2007. Das Unternehmen hat eine Kapazität von rund 200.000 Streckenschwellen pro Jahr.

Ein Meilenstein ist 2007 die Verlegung der Konzernzentrale von Linz nach Kirchdorf, dorthin, wo alles begann. Von kurzen Wegen an einem Ort profitieren vor allem auch die Kunden. Darüber hinaus ist diese Investition eine Aufwertung des Standortes und ein positives Signal für die Region, wie auch die markante Außenfassade symbolisiert: Eine Menschenkette aus Beton zeigt die Verbundenheit untereinander und mit dem Umfeld.


2010 / 2012 – Neu und alt perfekt vereint

Die Kirchdorfer Gruppe denkt in Generationen und investiert auch in wirtschaftlich schwierigen Zeiten.

2010 erfolgt die Übernahme der Katzenberger Beton und Fertigteilwerke GmbH in Gerasdorf. Deren Produkte stellen eine ideale Ergänzung für den Hochbaubereich der Kirchdorfer Fertigteilsparte dar. Hinter der Übernahme der H. Katzenberger Beton- und Fertigteilwerke in Wiesing/Tirol 2013 steht ein langfristiger Plan: Die Kirchdorfer sind nun im Bereich Betonfertigteile österreichweit vertreten und besitzen Distributionsgebiete im Westen Österreichs, Südtirol und Süddeutschland.

Ein weiterer Meilenstein ist die Eröffnung der neuen Verwaltungszentrale in Wöllersdorf am 23. Mai 2012. Die Geschichte des Geländes reicht als „Feuerwerksanstalt“ bis in das Jahr 1815 zurück. Mit viel Liebe zum Detail wird der denkmalgeschützte Bau generalsaniert und revitalisiert. Hinter der eindrucksvollen Fassade in Weiß werden mehrere Geschoßdecken mit moderner Technik für 150 Arbeitsplätze eingezogen. Moderne trifft auf Tradition: Die besondere Atmosphäre ist auf Schritt und Tritt zu spüren. Die Feuerwerksanstalt ist somit seit vielen Jahren mit der Geschichte der Kirchdorfer Gruppe verbunden und wurde mit Respekt vor Tradition und Natur zu neuem Glanz gebracht – gelebte Unternehmensphilosophie der Kirchdorfer Gruppe.

2013 – Weltweit auf Erfolgskurs

Heute, 125 Jahre nach der Gründung, ist die Kirchdorfer Gruppe ein international agierender Konzern, dessen erfolgreicher Weg in 13 Länder in Europa sowie bis nach Asien und Afrika führt. Die private Industriegruppe zeichnet sich dabei durch dynamisches Wachstum und dem kontinuierlichen Ausbau der drei Produktsparten „Zement, Rohstoffe sowie Fertigteile & Fertighäuser“ aus.